Skip to content
West Sussex Counts — West Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Adur, in numbers

People and living standards: Adur

Adur local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Adur local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 58,548 in 1991 to 64,802 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Adur council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 58,695 people in 1996; 64,802 people in 2025. 10.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199158,548
199257,822
199357,522
199457,695
199558,246
199658,695
199758,613
199858,401
199958,841
200059,379
200159,714
200260,050
200359,993
200459,961
200559,821
200660,337
200760,564
200860,721
200961,023
201061,216
201161,334
201262,158
201362,850
201463,525
201563,808
201663,947
201764,144
201864,230
201964,580
202064,550
202164,632
202264,735
202364,606
202464,736
202564,802
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Adur council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 10,954 people in 1996; 11,322 people in 2025. 3.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,576
199210,492
199310,492
199410,641
199510,862
199610,954
199711,027
199811,006
199911,238
200011,312
200111,322
200211,288
200311,193
200410,966
200510,743
200610,727
200710,593
200810,476
200910,552
201010,602
201110,613
201210,863
201311,051
201411,267
201511,355
201611,370
201711,530
201811,606
201911,715
202011,704
202111,602
202211,715
202311,599
202411,463
202511,322
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Adur council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 34,690 people in 1996; 37,615 people in 2025. 8.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199134,914
199234,300
199333,962
199433,989
199534,361
199634,690
199734,598
199834,449
199934,702
200035,169
200135,462
200235,876
200335,996
200436,180
200536,236
200636,767
200737,145
200837,373
200937,338
201037,291
201137,170
201237,291
201337,484
201437,593
201537,707
201637,810
201737,705
201837,658
201937,750
202037,678
202137,738
202237,583
202337,468
202437,617
202537,615
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Adur council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,051 people in 1996; 15,865 people in 2025. 21.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,058
199213,030
199313,068
199413,065
199513,023
199613,051
199712,988
199812,946
199912,901
200012,898
200112,930
200212,886
200312,804
200412,815
200512,842
200612,843
200712,826
200812,872
200913,133
201013,323
201113,551
201214,004
201314,315
201414,665
201514,746
201614,767
201714,909
201814,966
201915,115
202015,168
202115,292
202215,437
202315,539
202415,656
202515,865
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 64,543 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Adur · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,3952.2%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African5300.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,6272.5%
White60,29493.4%
Other ethnic group6971.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 61,182 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Adur · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White58,66395.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups8861.4%
Asian/Asian British1,0581.7%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3130.5%
Other ethnic group2620.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 59,627 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Adur · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White58,12797.5%
Mixed5701%
Asian/Asian British5010.8%
Black/Black British1520.3%
Chinese/Other2770.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Adur council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,874 per person in 1997; £25,237 per person in 2024. 184.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,874
19989,319
19999,698
200010,220
200110,964
200211,153
200311,412
200411,867
200512,537
200613,026
200713,523
200813,711
200914,342
201014,535
201114,890
201215,498
201316,128
201416,457
201517,526
201618,063
201718,582
201819,033
201919,678
202019,829
202120,808
202221,935
202323,663
202425,237
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Adur council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -16.4% in 1997; -2.8% in 2024. 13.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Adur council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-16.4
1998-13.9
1999-14.3
2000-14.1
2001-11.4
2002-11.8
2003-12.5
2004-12.6
2005-10.8
2006-11
2007-11.9
2008-12.9
2009-10.4
2010-10
2011-8.6
2012-8.2
2013-7.9
2014-9
2015-7.9
2016-6.2
2017-5.7
2018-6.7
2019-6.6
2020-5.5
2021-4.7
2022-4.5
2023-3.2
2024-2.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

56.3%

21 March 2021 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.5%

21 March 2021 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.6%

21 March 2021 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£380,000

July 2026 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,410

August 2026 · Adur local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.