Skip to content
West Sussex Counts — West Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Arun, in numbers

People and living standards: Arun

Arun local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Arun local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 130,464 in 1991 to 172,326 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Arun council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 134,967 people in 1996; 172,326 people in 2025. 27.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991130,464
1992130,910
1993131,812
1994132,264
1995133,706
1996134,967
1997137,001
1998136,915
1999139,442
2000140,308
2001140,998
2002142,385
2003143,458
2004145,149
2005145,985
2006146,750
2007147,725
2008148,458
2009148,891
2010149,467
2011149,811
2012152,162
2013154,034
2014155,983
2015157,474
2016159,363
2017161,338
2018162,647
2019163,310
2020163,661
2021165,219
2022166,610
2023168,733
2024170,692
2025172,326
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Arun council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,020 people in 1996; 25,584 people in 2025. 11.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,517
199221,820
199322,163
199422,436
199522,751
199623,020
199723,313
199823,285
199923,721
200023,954
200124,105
200224,267
200324,280
200424,227
200524,094
200623,816
200723,602
200823,364
200923,405
201023,401
201123,419
201223,913
201324,244
201424,391
201524,604
201624,995
201725,230
201825,474
201925,477
202025,349
202125,315
202225,349
202325,624
202425,668
202525,584
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Arun council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 75,835 people in 1996; 96,267 people in 2025. 26.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,682
199272,959
199373,534
199473,837
199574,843
199675,835
199777,485
199877,470
199979,370
200079,872
200180,345
200281,401
200382,241
200483,630
200584,540
200685,716
200786,685
200886,948
200986,902
201086,988
201186,788
201287,130
201387,549
201488,169
201588,796
201689,677
201790,809
201891,407
201991,672
202091,738
202192,760
202293,241
202394,421
202495,418
202596,267
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Arun council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 36,112 people in 1996; 50,475 people in 2025. 39.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199136,265
199236,131
199336,115
199435,991
199536,112
199636,112
199736,203
199836,160
199936,351
200036,482
200136,548
200236,717
200336,937
200437,292
200537,351
200637,218
200737,438
200838,146
200938,584
201039,078
201139,604
201241,119
201342,241
201443,423
201544,074
201644,691
201745,299
201845,766
201946,161
202046,574
202147,144
202248,020
202348,688
202449,606
202550,475
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 164,887 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Arun · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,6301.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8570.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,4841.5%
White158,00295.8%
Other ethnic group9140.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 149,518 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Arun · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White145,11897.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,5021%
Asian/Asian British2,1161.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5380.4%
Other ethnic group2440.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 140,759 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Arun · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White138,61998.5%
Mixed7780.6%
Asian/Asian British6180.4%
Black/Black British3110.2%
Chinese/Other4330.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 1.8% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Arun council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,947 per person in 1997; £26,424 per person in 2024. 141.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,947
199811,437
199911,632
200012,242
200112,996
200213,158
200313,409
200413,830
200514,470
200615,055
200715,731
200816,009
200916,446
201016,814
201117,095
201217,669
201318,465
201418,651
201519,793
201620,083
201720,507
201821,041
201921,221
202021,271
202122,000
202223,509
202324,965
202426,424
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Arun council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 3.2% in 1997; 1.8% in 2024. 1.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Arun council area: full reviewed history
Period%
19973.2
19985.6
19992.8
20002.8
20015.1
20024
20032.9
20041.9
20052.9
20062.8
20072.5
20081.7
20092.7
20104.1
20114.9
20124.6
20135.4
20143.1
20154
20164.3
20174.1
20183.1
20190.7
20201.3
20210.7
20222.4
20232.1
20241.8
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

52.4%

21 March 2021 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.6%

21 March 2021 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.7%

21 March 2021 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.4%

21 March 2021 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£321,000

July 2026 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,231

August 2026 · Arun local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.