Skip to content
West Sussex Counts — West Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Chichester, in numbers

People and living standards: Chichester

Chichester local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Chichester local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 101,809 in 1991 to 130,224 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Chichester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 102,137 people in 1996; 130,224 people in 2025. 27.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991101,809
1992101,403
1993101,399
1994101,721
1995102,424
1996102,137
1997103,803
1998104,994
1999105,957
2000106,382
2001106,494
2002106,990
2003107,512
2004108,157
2005108,773
2006109,686
2007110,603
2008111,796
2009112,474
2010113,411
2011113,995
2012115,042
2013116,120
2014116,870
2015118,447
2016119,711
2017121,442
2018122,185
2019122,815
2020123,032
2021124,517
2022126,318
2023128,114
2024129,206
2025130,224
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Chichester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,719 people in 1996; 19,841 people in 2025. 6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,544
199217,756
199318,126
199418,244
199518,673
199618,719
199719,141
199819,356
199919,419
200019,259
200118,865
200218,809
200318,806
200418,824
200518,782
200618,656
200718,634
200818,611
200918,608
201018,625
201118,630
201218,721
201318,728
201418,746
201518,984
201619,152
201719,535
201819,526
201919,601
202019,411
202119,300
202219,551
202319,753
202419,843
202519,841
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Chichester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 59,537 people in 1996; 73,593 people in 2025. 23.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199160,889
199260,126
199359,661
199459,755
199559,885
199659,537
199760,645
199861,394
199962,177
200062,638
200163,097
200263,626
200363,816
200464,270
200564,626
200665,382
200766,018
200866,776
200967,015
201067,250
201167,308
201267,238
201367,613
201467,619
201568,447
201669,112
201770,027
201870,314
201970,199
202070,275
202171,278
202272,261
202373,084
202473,425
202573,593
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Chichester council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,881 people in 1996; 36,790 people in 2025. 54.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199123,376
199223,521
199323,612
199423,722
199523,866
199623,881
199724,017
199824,244
199924,361
200024,485
200124,532
200224,555
200324,890
200425,063
200525,365
200625,648
200725,951
200826,409
200926,851
201027,536
201128,057
201229,083
201329,779
201430,505
201531,016
201631,447
201731,880
201832,345
201933,015
202033,346
202133,939
202234,506
202335,277
202435,938
202536,790
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 124,071 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chichester · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,1681.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African7830.6%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0471.6%
White118,40495.4%
Other ethnic group6690.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 113,794 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chichester · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White110,32296.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0921%
Asian/Asian British1,6171.4%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5180.5%
Other ethnic group2450.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 106,450 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Chichester · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White104,70398.4%
Mixed6560.6%
Asian/Asian British3710.3%
Black/Black British2110.2%
Chinese/Other5090.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 26.6% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Chichester council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £14,069 per person in 1997; £32,884 per person in 2024. 133.7% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199714,069
199814,490
199914,541
200015,668
200116,343
200216,602
200316,894
200417,755
200518,611
200619,369
200720,144
200820,395
200920,299
201020,631
201120,957
201221,621
201322,732
201423,262
201524,727
201624,842
201725,178
201825,922
201926,655
202025,927
202127,361
202229,163
202330,994
202432,884
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Chichester council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 32.6% in 1997; 26.6% in 2024. 6 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Chichester council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199732.6
199833.8
199928.5
200031.6
200132.1
200231.2
200329.6
200430.8
200532.4
200632.3
200731.3
200829.5
200926.8
201027.7
201128.6
201228
201329.8
201428.6
201530
201629
201727.8
201827
201926.5
202023.5
202125.3
202227
202326.8
202426.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.8%

21 March 2021 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.2%

21 March 2021 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.8%

21 March 2021 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.3%

21 March 2021 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£432,000

July 2026 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,333

August 2026 · Chichester local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.