Skip to content
West Sussex Counts — West Sussex, in numbers.Local help →

Horsham, in numbers

People and living standards: Horsham

Horsham local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Horsham local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 109,718 in 1991 to 152,016 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Horsham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 116,458 people in 1996; 152,016 people in 2025. 30.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991109,718
1992109,648
1993111,084
1994112,854
1995114,411
1996116,458
1997118,719
1998118,998
1999120,876
2000121,524
2001122,272
2002122,694
2003123,798
2004124,920
2005125,949
2006127,190
2007128,294
2008129,073
2009129,790
2010130,916
2011131,540
2012132,145
2013132,807
2014134,201
2015135,832
2016138,257
2017139,862
2018141,468
2019142,932
2020144,377
2021147,500
2022148,682
2023149,550
2024151,071
2025152,016
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Horsham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 23,948 people in 1996; 26,779 people in 2025. 11.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,884
199222,127
199322,666
199423,247
199523,648
199623,948
199724,348
199824,657
199924,734
200025,058
200125,203
200225,067
200325,225
200425,304
200525,197
200625,092
200725,020
200824,921
200924,576
201024,519
201124,536
201224,685
201324,703
201424,809
201525,002
201625,145
201725,164
201825,543
201925,683
202025,702
202126,113
202226,562
202326,802
202426,918
202526,779
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Horsham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 73,218 people in 1996; 88,578 people in 2025. 21% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199169,291
199268,995
199369,746
199470,748
199571,678
199673,218
199774,869
199874,649
199976,168
200076,262
200176,559
200276,901
200377,539
200478,142
200578,783
200679,695
200780,357
200880,540
200980,919
201081,350
201181,105
201280,393
201380,076
201480,479
201581,272
201682,697
201783,607
201884,242
201984,841
202085,811
202187,697
202287,609
202387,647
202488,216
202588,578
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Horsham council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 19,292 people in 1996; 36,659 people in 2025. 90% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199118,543
199218,526
199318,672
199418,859
199519,085
199619,292
199719,502
199819,692
199919,974
200020,204
200120,510
200220,726
200321,034
200421,474
200521,969
200622,403
200722,917
200823,612
200924,295
201025,047
201125,899
201227,067
201328,028
201428,913
201529,558
201630,415
201731,091
201831,683
201932,408
202032,864
202133,690
202234,511
202335,101
202435,937
202536,659
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 146,776 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Horsham · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,9742.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1,3120.9%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups3,1302.1%
White137,44293.6%
Other ethnic group9180.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 131,301 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Horsham · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,06296%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,7741.4%
Asian/Asian British2,5852%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British6510.5%
Other ethnic group2290.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 122,088 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Horsham · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White119,41797.8%
Mixed9080.7%
Asian/Asian British6760.6%
Black/Black British3370.3%
Chinese/Other7500.6%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 32.5% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Horsham council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £16,463 per person in 1997; £34,400 per person in 2024. 109% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199716,463
199816,639
199916,776
200017,617
200118,031
200218,265
200318,373
200419,029
200519,814
200620,448
200721,227
200821,512
200921,411
201021,681
201122,117
201222,703
201323,793
201424,220
201525,372
201625,529
201725,927
201826,890
201927,581
202026,790
202127,703
202229,233
202332,136
202434,400
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Horsham council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 55.2% in 1997; 32.5% in 2024. 22.7 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Horsham council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199755.2
199853.7
199948.3
200048
200145.8
200244.4
200340.9
200440.2
200540.9
200639.6
200738.3
200836.6
200933.7
201034.2
201135.7
201234.4
201335.8
201433.9
201533.4
201632.6
201731.6
201831.7
201930.9
202027.6
202126.8
202227.3
202331.4
202432.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59.8%

21 March 2021 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

11.5%

21 March 2021 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

12.5%

21 March 2021 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

3.5%

21 March 2021 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£442,000

July 2026 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,474

August 2026 · Horsham local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.